Miranda Lambert, Willie Nelson and Chris Janson top this week’s music releases

CLEVELAND, Ohio — A trio of country favorites — Miranda Lambert, Willie Nelson and Chris Janson — headline this week’s new musical release offerings (all subject to change)…

Album of the week: Fresh off the Academy of Country Music Awards as Artist of the Year, Miranda Lambert releases “Palomino” (Vanner/RCA Nashville), her eighth studio album and follow-up to the acclaimed collaboration “The Marfa Tapes” ‘last year. Always one to surprise, Lambert teams up with the B-52 on “Music City Queen” and covers the title track from Mick Jagger’s 1993 solo album “Wandering Spirit.”

Title of the album of the week: Ann Wilson, “Fierce Bliss” (Silver Lining Music)

Did you know ? : “Profound Mysteries” (Dog Triumph) is the first new release from Norwegian electronic duo Royksopp in seven years and features guest appearances from Alison Goldfrapp, Susanne Sundfor, Astrid S., Beki Mari, Pixx and more.

New and remarkable

Head and Heart, “Every Shade of Blue” (Warner)

Chris Janson, “All In” (Warner Music Nashville)

Norah Jones, “Come Away With Me: 20th Anniversary Edition” (Blue Note)

Kehlani, “Blue Water Road” (TSNMI/Atlantic)

Willie Nelson, “A Beautiful Era” (Legacy)

Ted Nugent, “Detroit Muscle” (pavement)

Rammstein, “Zeit” (Vertige/Capitoline)

Eli Paperboy Reed, “Down Every Road” (Yep Roc)

Trombone Shorty, “Lifted” (Blue Note)

Robin Trower, “More Worlds to Conquer” (Provogue/Mascot)

Hot New Singles

Arcade Fire, “Unconditional I (Lookout Kid);” BRA/Aimee Osbourne, “Against Mine”; Badshah, J. Balvin and Tainy, “Voodoo”; Bahari, “Hot Mess” with Yoshi Flower; Erica Banks, “Pop Out”; beabadoobee, “See you soon”; Daniel Caesar, “Please Do Not Lean” with Babbadnotgood; Def Leppard, “Take What You Want”; Publishers, “Heart Attack;” Brett Eldredge, “Songs About You”; Lindsay Ell, “Right on Time”; George Ezra, “Green Green Grass”; Golden Roses, “New Pal”; Journey, “You have the best of me”; Tay Keith, “Lights Off” with Gunna and Lil Durk; The Kid Laroi, “A Thousand Miles”; Skip Marley, “Change”; Megan Thee Stallion, “Letter to My Ex” and “Plan B”; Mercury and the Architects, “Chain Reaction;” Mandy Moore, “Eternity Now”; Jared James Nichols, “Hard Wired”; NLE Choppa, “Slut Me Out”; Pop Evil, “Eye of the Storm”; Shakira, “Te Felicito”; Soccer Mommy, “Unholy Affliction”; Sam Smith, “Love Me More”; The Subways, “Oi You Boy Bands”; Thao, “Ambition”; Jack Tempchin and Mrs. Henry, “Waiting”; Carrie Underwood, “Mad Angels;” Warpaint, “Hips”; Westside Boogie, “Aight” with Shelley FKA DRAM; Zolita, “If I Love You”

Also released

June Ata, “Some Songs” (Flying On Fire)

Jon Balke and Siwan, “Hafla, “ECM)

Barney Bentall, “Cosmic Dreamer” (True North)

Bits in Pockets, “The Bits” (MMY)

blackwinterwells, “crystal shards” (eyeball)

Blessing, “The Girl Next Door” (RCA)

Bloc Party, “Alpha Games” (infectious/BMG)

Blossoms, “Ribbons Around the Bomb” (EMI)

Bonham-Bullick, “Bonham Bullick (Quarto Valley)

Action Bronson, “Cocodrillo Turbo” (Loma Vista/Concord)

Diane Coffee, “With People” (polyvinyl)

The Coffis brothers, “Turn My Radio Up” (Blue Rose Music)

Mitch Davis, “The Haunting, (Arbutus)

Devil Master, “Extasies of Never Ending Night” (Relapse)

Empire Springs, “The Luminescence” (self-produced)

Gus Englehorn, “Dungeon Master” (Secret City)

Ennead, “Wilted Flowers and Cinnamon” (Vallis Lupi Productions)

Fieldwork, “Stations” (Fieldwork)

Frog Eyes, “The Bees” (paper bag)

Frontperson, “Parade” (Oscar St.)

Dana Fuchs, “Borrowed Time” (Ruf)

Girlpool, “Pardon” (Anti-/Epitaph)

Angie Goeke, “If I Was Honest” (self-published)

Tigran Hamasyan, “StandArt” (Nonesuch)

Shaina Hayes, “To Coax a Waltz” (self-produced)

HD4President, “Find My Way” (Motown)

Head and Heart, “Every Shade of Blue” (Warner)

Honeyglaze, “Honeyglaze” (Speedy Wunderground /[PIAS])

Kaipa, “Urskog” (InsideOutMusic)

Lola Kirke, “Lady for Sale” (Third Man)

Kitchen Dwellers, “Wise River” (No Coincidence)

Let’s Eat Grandma, “Two Ribbons” (Transgressive)

Corb Lund, “Songs Written by My Friends” (New West)

Market, “The Consistent Brutal Bulls *** Going” (Western Vinyl)

Briston Maroney, “Sunflower (Deluxe!!!)” (Atlantic)

MattstaGraham, “Prescribe Anything” (Dropout)

Dan McCloskey, “Chaos and Beauty” (Lemon Hill)

Melody’s Echo Chamber, “Emotional Eternal” (Domino)

Alex Miller, “Miller Time” (Billy Jam)

Jamie Miller, “Broken Memories” (Atlantic/Geaux Uptown)

Miyeon, “My” (CUBE Entertainment)

Melody’s Echo Chamber, “Emotional Eternal” (Domino)

PJ Morton, “Look at the Sun” (Morton/Empire)

Izaak Opatz, “Extra Medium” (Mama Bird)

Kelly Lee Owens, “LP.8” (Smalltown Supersound)

Paddy and the Rats, “From the Desert to Wonderland” (Napalm)

Saran Jane Nelson, “Shelby Park” (self-published)

The Potash Twins, “Hornography” (self-produced)

Psy, “Psy 9th” (YG Entertainment)

Shilpa Ray, “Portrait of a Lady” (Northern Spy)

Lily Chorus, “Mana” (Sub)

Maggie Rogers, “Surrender” (Capitol)

Scalping, “Void” (houndstooth)

Sofi Tukker, “Wet Tennis” (Sofi Tukker LLC/Ultra)

Caroline Spence, “True North” (rounder)

Thunder, “Dopamine” (BMG)

Tomberlin, “I don’t know who needs to hear this…” (Saddle Creek)

Toro y Moi, “Mahal” (Dead Oceans)

Waxflower, “The Sound of What Went Wrong” (rude)

Faye Webster, “Car Therapy Sessions” (secretly Canadian)

Cory Wong, “Power Station” (self-published)

Wumpscut, “Fledermaus 303” (Metropolis)

Warren Zeiders, “717 Tapes — EP (Vol. 2)” (Warner)

From the vaults

The B-52’s “Whammy” (music on CD)

Bill Bruford, “Make a Song and Dance: A Comprehensive Career Collection” (BMG)

Roger Chapman, “Moth to a Flame (The Recordings 1979-1981)” (Esoteric/Cherry Red)

Miley Cyrus, “Warning: Miley Live (Deluxe Edition)” (Columbia)

Robert Fripp, “Washington Square Church” (DGM)

Penguin Café Orchestra, “A Matter of Life…2001” (self-produced)

Say ZuZu, “Here Again: A Retrospective (1994-2002)” (Strolling Bones)

Sparks, “Balls”, “Lil’ Beethoven” and “Hello Young Lovers” (BMG)

Neil Young, “Neil Young Official Release Series Discs 13, 14, 20 & 21” (Reprise)


“The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel: Music from Season Four” (Legacy)

“Take Me to the River – New Orleans” (Petaluma)

Comments are closed.